About Vanuatu

The Republic of Vanuatu, formerly known as the New Hebrides, is an island nation in the Southwest Pacific Ocean with about a dozen significant islands and many smaller islands extending between the Equator and the Tropic of Capricorn. Most of the islands are formed from the summits of volcanic mountain ranges rising from the ocean floor. Independence was obtained in 1980 after some 74 years of joint rule by Britain and France.

Melanesians were the first people to settle in Vanuatu about 3000 years ago and were joined later by small numbers of Polynesians between the 11th and 15th centuries. Permanent settlement by Europeans didn't happen until the 19th century. Most of the Ni-Vanuatu population still live in villages amongst the islands. English, French and Bislama are the official languages and there are over 100 indigenous languages.

Vanuatu's climate is tropical maritime. The surrounding ocean moderates temperature and trade winds provide a cooling sea breeze.

In recent times Vanuatu's outer islands, where the greatest attractions and experiences are on offer, are opening up to tourism but the numbers of visitors are still very low. Start exploring Vanuatu with our interactive map or read more about travel in Vanuatu on our about bungalows page.

About Bungalows Vanuatu map Top of page
Click here to see Vanuatu Map

Please read our DISCLAIMER notice.
COPYRIGHT © 2004-2009 Wantok Environment Centre (WTEC). All rights reserved.